Grown Up Dreams

Prompted by yesterday’s Daily Prompt

I’ve been busy, busy, busy. And so much busyness keeps me away from my blog. But here I am.

When I was ten, I wanted to be a botanist. I don’t know what had got the love of biology into my head but I suspect it was more to do with the fact that I didn’t want plants to die out. Now Biology doesn’t feature in my IB subjects at all. No, thank you very much, I’ll pass.
Besides botanist, I also wanted to be a writer and poet. Till date, this desire burns on. Let’s see what happens. When I am not doing schoolwork, I might devote my time to something wonderful and strange.

I also wanted to be famous. And loved. And happy. I wanted to be an optimist. I wanted to be a happy girl in a happy place.
Now, I am a cynic who has a sharp, sarcastic and swearing tongue. Quite a contrast to what I wanted to be but hey, not many of us have life all figured out at ten, right?

Now I just have grown up dreams, not dreams about growing up. Is seventeen really that old?

3 thoughts on “Grown Up Dreams

  1. 17 is not that old. ha ha … and regarding change and all the sarcasm about growing up… its the same everywhere. loved the way you narrated it so nicely… in a short capsule format.

    Happy Blogging!!!

So tell me what you think...

